Legislative Affairs > State Laws

Oklahoma

Title 59. Professions and Occupations

Oklahoma Statutes Annotated

Title 59. Professions and Occupations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 42. Dietitians (Refs & Annos)

Oklahoma is a Title Protection State. The Registered Dietitian Act, Title 59, Oklahoma Statute 1741 (Sections 1721-1741) was amended on November 1, 2019. Holistic nutrition professionals may work within their scope of practice but may not refer to themselves as a Licensed Dietitian (LD), Provisional Licensed Dietitian (PLD), or Registered Dietitian (RD). Holistic nutrition professionals should not state or imply that they are a dietitian or that they are licensed or certified in the state of Oklahoma.

Section 1736 Titles and Abbreviations:

  1. A person may not use the title or represent or imply that he or she has the title of licensed dietitian or provisional licensed dietitian or use the letters LD or PLD and may not use any facsimile of those titles in any manner to indicate or imply that the person is a licensed dietitian or provisional licensed dietitian, unless that person holds an appropriate license.
  2. A person shall not use the title or represent or imply that he has the title of registered dietitian or the letters RD and shall not use any facsimile of the title in any manner to indicate or imply that the person is registered as a registered dietitian by the Commission on Dietetic Registration, unless the person is registered as a registered dietitian by the Commission on Dietetic Registration.
  3. Any person convicted of knowingly or intentionally violating the provisions of subsection A or B of this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.

 

  1. NEW LAW to be codified as Title 59 Oklahoma Statute § 1741
  2. Any person who holds himself or herself out as a licensed dietitian, or any licensed dietitian who violates any provision of the Licensed Dietitian Act shall, upon conviction, be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than Fifty Dollars ($50.00) and not more than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00). Each day a violation of the provisions of the Licensed Dietitian Act occurs shall be deemed to be a separate offense.
  3. In addition to any fine or penalty that may be imposed against any licensed dietitian who has been determined by the State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision to have violated any provision of the Licensed Dietitian Act or any rule or any order issued pursuant to the provisions of the Licensed Dietitian Act or any person who holds himself or herself out as a licensed dietitian, such person may be liable for the costs incurred by the Board to implement disciplinary actions or prosecute the case. This includes but is not limited to investigator fees, stenographer fees, attorney fees and hearing costs.
  4. All monies collected in association with these costs shall be deposited with the State Treasurer of Oklahoma and placed in the State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision Fund.

 

https://www.okmedicalboard.org/dietitians/download/815/LDLAW_1119.pdf

 

NANP Supporters